General Election 2017

Three elected at first count in West Tyrone

TWO of the Sinn Fein candidates for West Tyrone have been elected after reaching the quota following the first count for the constituency at Omagh Leisure Complex.

Barry McElduff and Michaela Boyle received 7,573 and 7,714 votes respectively. Also elected on the first round is Tom Buchanan of the DUP who topped the poll with 9,064 votes.

Daniel McCrossan of the SDLP on 6283, Declan McAleer of Sinn Fein on 6034 polled next highest, although Alicia Clarke on 3654 votes is expected to benefit substantially from unionist transfers.


None of the candidates representing the smaller parties of the independents have made any impact. 

TomBuchanan – DUP – 9,064.

Michaela Boyle – Sinn Fein – 7,714.

Barry McElduff – Sinn Fein – 7,573.

Daniel McCrossan – SDLP – 6,283.

Declan McAleer – Sinn Fein – 6,034.

Stephen Donnelly of Alliance polled 1252,


Independent Sorcha McAnespy 864.

Charlie Chittick of the TUV 851.

Ciaran McClean of the Green party received 412 first preferences,

CISTA Barry Brown – 373.

Independent Corey French – 98.

Independent Roisin McMackin – 85.

Independent Susan Anne White – 41

NI Conservative canidisate Roger Lomas – 27.




Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW