Dungannon crowned Tyrone Minor League champions

By Alan Rodgers

DUNGANNON are the now Tyrone Minor Grade One league champions following an impressive victory over Errigal Ciaran by 2-14 to 3-7 in the final at Killeeshil.

The Clarkes, who are celebrating their Centenary Year this season, produced a strong performance that saw them clinch vital scores at important stages. 


A goal within the first minutes of the tie from Dylan O’Hagan got them off to the perfect start and they led by 1-9 to 1-3 at half-time. Darragh Canavan grabbed the Errigal goal and the tie was still very much in the balance entering the second half.

Tommy Owens grabbed a second for them early on the resumption to reduce the deficit to just three points. But then the Clarkes responded in fine fashion and points courtesy of Cormac Hughes and James Morgan gave them a cushion for the final stages.

While Darragh Canavan and Peter Og McCartan impressed for Errigal, they couldn’t find a way through and Dungannon’s win was sealed when Paddy Keogh notched their second goal in added time to ensure that a third for Errigal from Odhran Robinson made no difference.



Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW