Errigal Ciaran win Tyrone Minor title

Report by Alan Rodgers

FIVE magical goals in the second half proved to be the key difference as Errigal Ciaran captured the Minor Grade One championship title.

They defeated Killeeshil by 6-9 to 0-9 in the decider at Galbally. It climaxed a day of high emotion for the club, as they captured the Kevin McCartan Cup for the first time since 2007 and dedicated the success to the late club stalwart Seamus Horisk, whose funeral had taken place earlier.


A goal from Tommy Owens helped them into a 1-5 to 0-6 interval lead. But the St Mary’s battled back, with points from Thomas Hoy and the excellent Laim Hughes reducing the deficit to the minimum margin, 1-6 to 0-8 approaching the final quarter.

It was then that Errigal cut loose to cruise home. First Pauric Traynor hit the net in the 13th minute of the second half. Moments later Ethan Neil grabbed a third for them and then Ciaran Traynor scored a fourth from a penalty. That left them 4-7 to 0-8 ahead and there was little chance of a revival from their neighbours from Killeeshil.

Late goals from Ethan Owens and then Cormac Quinn put the icing on the cake of a performance that also owed much to the efforts of team captain, Peter Og McCartan, Darragh Canavan and Aaron McAnenly.

There were emotional scenes at the final whistle as supporters thronged around the players to celebrate a memorable success that comes just sis days after the disappointment of losing in the league final.


Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW