Fintona Captain’s Day a big success

George and Donal Wilson, George Brownrigg, Fintona Club Captain, Barry Goodman, and John Baxter.  MC 84

George and Donal Wilson, George Brownrigg, Fintona Club Captain, Barry Goodman, and John Baxter. MC 84

GEORGE Brownrigg had a fantastic time over the weekend when he had  his Captain’s competition on Friday and Saturday. His meticulous  planning for many weeks beforehand, really paid off because George had a seamless couple of days.

This ended with a fantastic Captain’ night at which George was joined by many friends, family and club members for his celebration. George thanked all the relevant people who supported him as Captain and, in particular, all those who had worked closely with him in preparation for his Captain’s Day.


Kevin Hegarty was the leader after Friday’s play with a solid 41 points, unbelievably four ahead of his nearest rival Eddie Gibson. With a couple of devilish pin positions on 3,7 and 8 expectations were that lower scoring was to be the norm. However this was not the case when the Saturday scores started to filter through.

Kevin still led for a long time until challenged by Darren Campbell with a lesser 41 and there were a few 40 point scores. The man of the moment, and the shrewd punter’s favourite, Adrian Cairns posted an unbeatable 44 points to lift the Captain’s Prize 2015. He was absolutely delighted to accept the marvellous Captain’s Trophy from
George and wished him all the best for the rest of his year.

The full list of prizewinners was:
1st- Adrian Cairns 44pts, 2nd- Kevin Hegarty 41pts on count back, 3rd- Darren Campbell 41pts, Gross- Plunkett McNelis 32 Gross, Senior- Damien Montague 36pts, Super Senior- Dill Hay 33pts, 1st 9- Colwyn Clogherty 23pts, 2nd 9- Justin McCallan 23pts, Past Captain- Eugene Fee 35pts, Council- John Baxter 40pts, Section 0-12- Damien McMahon 40pts, Section 13-18- Paddy Toal 38pts, Section19 and above- Stephen Kelly 37pts, 1st Guest- Stephen Murphy 34pts, 1st Lady- Lorna Beatty 43pts, 2nd Lady- Margaret Rainey 41pts, 3rd Lady- Agnes Donaghy 38pts, Juvenile- Scott Young 41pts, Mixed 1st- Willie and Diane Moffett 65pts, Mixed 2nd- Eamon Mc Quade and Kitty Loughran 69pts, Longest Drive- Mark McCann, Nearest the pin- Gerry McCalla. Last but by no means least, Colwyn Clogherty had a hole in one at the

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007

Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW