The wait goes on as Accies defeated at Kingspan

Dejected Accies players at the final whistle

Dejected Accies players at the final whistle

Omagh Accies…3

Ballynahinch 2nds…17


The wait goes on.

Omagh Accies’ bid to win a first Millar McCall Wylie Junior Cup in nearly 24 years ended in bitter disappointment at Ravenhill’s Kingspan Stadium this evening.

The Accies failed to reproduce the form which had taken Phil Marshall’s troops all the way to the showpiece decider.

Ultimately the damage was done in the first half as Omagh started tentatively and lacked composure when in possession of the ball during the opening exchanges.

Hinch dominated possession and just 14 minutes in they duly opened the scoring. Omagh were penalised, their opponents kicked for the corner and following a catch and drive it was hooker Ben Pentland who got the touchdown.

Patrick Wright added the extras and the fullback nailed a penalty later in the first half.

By then Omagh had their first and only points on the board when Neil MacLaine kicked a penalty after Hinch had been pinged for offside.


However it was the Co Down second string who finished the first period with a flourish as centre Callum McLaughlin sliced through the Omagh defence to score under the posts. Wright kicked the conversion to leave Hinch well placed at the interval.

As expected Omagh came out all guns blazing at the beginning of the second half with prop Mark Smyth bundled into touch inches short of the line.

Moments later the Co Tyrone men strung together a number of phases but with the line at their mercy Beckett inexplicably dropped the ball.

The fullback then set off on a 40-yard dash but Hinch once again closed the door.

As both sides emptied their benches it was the Co Down men who finished well on top but the Accies defence remained resolute to restore a modicum of pride.

The Teams

Omagh Accies: Ali Beckett; Ryan Mitchell; Adam Stephenson; Alan Heaney; Neil Brown; Neil MacLaine; Stewart McCain; Kyle Alexander (capt); Mark Hopton-Brown; Mark Smyth; Johnny Sproule; Jamie Sproule; David McFarland; Adam Longwell; James Catterson. Subs: David Thompson; Mervyn Edgar; Dean Porter; Lee Murphy; Yonga Taleni.

Ballynahinch II: Patrick Wright; Aaron Ferris; William Stewart; Callum McLaughlin; Chris Orr; Ryan Wilson; Jonathan Murdock; Stuart Orr; Ben Pentland; Chris Stevenson; Kenny Morton (capt); Andrew Simpson; Bran Howard; Graham McKitterick; Keith Dickson.Subs: Ben Cullen; Alistair Gordon; Jason Barr; Ben McMullan; Rory Kerr.

Referee: Chris Busby

STRATHROY Harps manager Benny McElholm was somewhere between bewilderment and a state of shock following this extraordinary first round...


Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW