Sports Awards Header

School Team of the Year Award


Award Sponsor

And the nominees are…

GAA: St Ciaran’s College Ballygawley

St Ciaran’s made their maiden breakthrough in the Ulster Schools MacLarnon Cup with victory over Our Lady’s Castleblayney after an absorbing final on St Patrick’s Day. Despite the concession of a goal in the opening sceonds the Ballygawley boys responded superbly to take the spoils, a last minute goal from Callum Corrigan sealing victory. The team subsequently progressed to the All-Ireland ‘B’ Final at Croke Park, only to lose out to Ballinrobe after extra-time despite an heroic effort


Omagh CBS Minor boys’ team produced a sensational performance to strike gold for the first time at the Irish Schools Cross Country Championships in Mallusk. The Brothers conquered the best teams of athletes from each of the four provinces to lift the much coveted Irish Schools Athletics Association trophy. Conor McGillion had a magnificent run finishing seventh and he was backed up superbly by Tomas Haigney in 25th, Conor Bradley 27th and Turlough Mullin 29th to give the team an overall score of 88 points. Patrick McCann, Fiachra Donnelly, Alex McGlinchey, David Quinn and Niall Gillespie completed the schools’ historic first ever Irish Schools winning team.

SOCCER: Castlederg High School

Castlederg High School’s under-16 soccer team proved to be top dogs in the Fermanagh and Western when they reclaimed the McKee Cup following an entertaining final with Omagh High School. After a series of impressive performances en route to the final the Derg boys carried the favourites mantle into the decider. And they duly delivered thanks to goals in either half from Jamie Finlay and Warner Ballantyne which proved enough for Davy Burns’ men to triumph 2-0 and win the trophy for the first time since 2012.

GAA: Sacred Heart College

The Year 9 boys made history for the Omagh school when they annexed the Faul Cup last May winning the College’s first ever Ulster title, with a superb triumph over De la Salle from Belfast in the final at Ardboe. Matthew Hayes hit a hat-trick of goals that afternoon but overall this was a victory for team spirit and togetherness. This breakthrough success meant the team were automatically moved up a grade for the Year 10 competition in September, but undaunted by this the same panel of players progressed all the way to the McDevitt Cup Final only to come up short in a thriller against Donaghmore.

NETBALL: Omagh Loreto

Loreto Grammar reaffirmed their position as a premier force in school’s netball achieving a notable double. The senior team again retained the Western Area crown – a title the girls have held for six years in a row – but not content with this they went on to secure even more success, progressing to the Northern Ireland League Final after beating the current Champions Our Lady and St Patrick’s Knock, in a nail biting semi-final, before falling just shot in the decider, to Sacred Heart Newry. The team also won the Northern Ireland Shield final, beating St Mary’s Newry 45-16.

Please note: One vote per IP address. Your vote does not determine the overall winner but helps create awareness of the shortlisted nominees.

Deadline for public view is: 10am, Monday 19th February 2018 Final voting deadline is: 10am, Friday 23rd February 2018.



Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW