Top clubs make managerial appointments for new season

New Carrickmore manager Raymond Munroe.

FORMER Derry star Fergal McCusker has been appointed as Galbally’s senior manager for the 2018 season.

McCusker represents something of a coup for the east Tyrone club, but comes amid considerable controversy in the Oak Leaf county.


The outgoing Derry U21 manager wasn’t considered for the position of the county’s U20 boss, sparking considerable anger in the Oak Leaf County.

The 1993 All-Ireland winner is one of three new Derry men crossing enemy lines to pit their wits against the very best in Tyrone club football next year.

His ex-teammate Damien Barton is taking Edendork next year, while it is understood that former Ballinderry boss Martin McKinless is on board for a second stint with freshly promoted Derrylaughan, whom he steered to the Intermediate Championship back in 2010.

McKinless achieved considerable success in the hotseat of his native club, steering Ballinderry to five Derry senior and several reserve championships.

Elsewhere in Division One, newly promoted Aghyaran are on the look out for a new boss as Peter McGinnity has moved back to his native Roslea, while new Ulster Intermediate Champions Moy are expected to stick with Audi Kelly and Gavin McGilly.

The high flyers have tended to keep faith with their incumbent managers. County champions Omagh will be led on the line by Paddy Crozier for a second year, while their vanquished opposition Errigal Ciaran have kept faith with Pascal Canavan for a third.

Dominic Corrigan is sticking around at Killyclogher for a third year, while Portglenone native John McKeever is giving it another shot with Coalisland.


It’s been confirmed that Ciaran Meenagh has committed to another year with Dromore, while Nigel Seaney is likely to stay with Trillick.

Raymond Munroe has taken on the mantle for a fresh stint at his native Carrickmore, alongside Ronan McGarrity and Peter Loughran. They replace Seamus McCallan, who steps down after only one year in charge.

Munroe steered the Tyrone minors to the All-Ireland title in 2010 and has a tough task on his hands to revive Carrickmore’s fortunes after a difficult few years.

Gavin Wylie has stepped into the breach at Ardboe following Brian McGuigan’s decision to step down after a year at the helm. Meanwhile, as reported, Mick O’Dowd faces the tough task of succeeding Damian Cassidy as Clonoe manager. The Castleblaney man will be assisted by Diarmuid Scullion and Niall O’Neill, who had been part of Cassidy’s set-up. During his eight-year tenure, Cassidy led the club to two senior championship wins, two league titles, a reserve championship and a Tyrone and Ulster title at U21 level.

TYRONE 4-24 ROSCOMMON 2-12 By Barry O’Donnell TYRONE ushered in the new GAA Super 8s format with a stunning...

TAKE Carlow for granted at your peril – that’s the one message above all others which Mickey Harte is...


Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW