Tyrone come up short in glory bid

TYRONE 1-14  DUBLIN 2-17

THE Field of dreams lived up to its name for twenty tantalising minutes at Croke Park yesterday afternoon before a harsh dose of reality belatedly kicked in.

Tyrone’s bid for a fourth All-Ireland senior title was crushed despite a sprightly opening period and stirring late revival as holders Dublin underlined their dominance of the footballing landscape with a ruthless six point victory in front of a packed house.

Making light of their 13/2 underdogs tag, the Red Hands tore out of the starting blocks and led 0-5 to 0-1 by the end of the first quarter, but a kamikaze two minute spell in which they gifted the grateful Dubs a goal and two points turned the match completely on its head.


After looking ragged and listless for much of the first period, Dublin eventually found their straps and somehow by the interval had built up a seven point cushion.

To their credit Tyrone never threw in the towel, or let the holders steamroller them as was the case twelve months ago. Yet while a late Peter Harte penalty goal set-up a grandstand finish, there was little doubting the Dubs superiority over the seventy minutes.

The Scorers


Peter Harte (1-1, 1 free), Connor McAliskey (0-3,1 free), Lee Brennan (0-3,3 frees), Mark Bradley (0-2), Cathal McShane (0-2), Tiernan McCann, Padraig Hampsey,  Kieran McGeary (0-1 each)


Dean Rock (0-7, 3 frees, 1 ’45’), Paul Mannion (1-1), Ciaran Kilkenny (0-3),  Niall Scully (1-0), Brian Fenton (0-2), Jack McCaffrey, Brian Howard, Kevin McManamon, Michael Darragh Macauley (0-1 each)

The Teams


Niall Morgan, Michael McKernan,  Ronan McNamee, Padraig Hampsey, Tiernan McCann, Rory Brennan, Peter Harte, Colm Cavanagh, Cathal McShane, Matthew Donnelly, Niall Sludden, Kieran McGeary, Mark Bradley, Conor Meyler, Connor McAliskey. Subs used: Lee Brennan for C Meyler (40 mins), Frank Burns for N Sludden (46), Richard Donnelly for C McAliskey (49), Harry Loughran for K McGeary (49, black card), Declan McClure for C McShane (55), Ronan O’Neill for M Bradley (63)


Stephen Cluxton, Philip McMahon, Cian O’Sullivan, Eoin Murchan, John Small,  Jonny Cooper, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, James McCarthy, Niall Scully, Con O’Callaghan, Brian Howard, Paul Mannion Ciaran Kilkenny, Dean Rock. Subs used: Michael Fitzsimons for C O’Sullivan (26 mins), Cormac Costello for N Scully (52), Kevin McManamon for P Mannion (58), Darren Daly for E Murchan (58), Eric Lowndes for J Cooper (64), Michael Darragh Macauley for  D Rock (67)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

and get access to our archive editions dating back to 2007

Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW