Sports Awards Header

School Team of the Year Award


Award Sponsor

Dean Maguirc College, Carrickmore (Gaelic Football)

Dean Maguirc Carrickmore claimed a third Ulster Schools title in a row when they edged past a spirited St Pius X Magherafelt side in a gripping Danske Bank Rafferty Cup replay at Stewartstown. As was the case in the drawn encounter, the second running of the decider was another superb advertisement for Ulster schools football between two sides who gave it everything over the course of the 60 odd minutes. The Dean recovered from a sluggish start to lead by two points at the break before holding on to seal a narrow one point triumph after extra-time.

Omagh CBS (Gaelic Football)

Omagh CBS produced a terrific display at Oliver Plunkett Park in Emyvale to defeat pre-match favourites St.Patrick’s Cavan to claim the Ulster Schools Corn na nOg title. Having won the Dalton Cup last year the Cavan lads went into the game as warm favourites but Omagh didn’t read the script as they had their homework done on their opponents and the five point winning margin in no way flattered them as they rallied during the latter stages of the second half to hit a purple patch of 1-3 without reply to all but seal the victory.

Loreto Grammar School, Omagh (Athletics/Cross Country)

Loreto Grammar School enjoyed a hugely successful cross-country season in 2018. Alongside a raft of achievements for the mini, minor, intermediate and senior girls at the E-District Championships, were successes at Ulster level where the older age-group team of Aoife McGrath, Enya Haigney and Cáelainn McQuaid won the overall team title before the school’s runners progressed to the All-Ireland Championships where the intermediate team of Sorcha Mullan, Ella Quinn and Brona Cunningham claimed the silver medal.

Omagh High School (Soccer)

Omagh High School’s soccer team not only managed to win the Bruce Memorial Cup outright, but they managed to do so with an unbeaten record. They progressed through the league section with a record of four wins and a draw – 2-1 against Omagh Academy, 4-1 against Drumragh Integrated, 2-1 against Fivemeiltown College, 1-0 against St Kevin’s College and 0-0 against Castlederg High School – before taking on their Castlederg counterparts in the decider. The final was scoreless throughout normal and extra-time before Omagh came through by 3-2 on penalties, thanks to two fine Matthew McIlwaine saves, which allowed Craig Millar to win it from the spot.

St Lawrence’s PS, Fintona (Athletics/Cross Country)

Fintona’s St Lawrence’s Primary School secured the bragging rights over their peers at Omagh Leisure Complex in June when they sealed the overall team title at the 2018 Omagh Primary School Cross Country Championships, organised by Fermanagh and Omagh District Council. The event attracted 320 children, representing eleven schools and produced a day of intense competition for P4-P7 pupils, with competitors seeking individual and school team honours. On the day, though, it was St Lawrence’s who ruled supreme, just pipping Omagh’s St Conor’s and Eskra’s St Patrick’s to the crown

Please note: One vote per IP address. Your vote does not determine the overall winner but helps create awareness of the shortlisted nominees.

Deadlines: For ‘public view’ of votes: Monday 25th February 2019 10am

Final voting deadline is: Friday 1st March 2019 10am



Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW