Dream derby ties as Tyrone championship draws are made

A DREAM derby tie featuring Dromore against Trillick is the stand-out pairing in this year’s Tyrone Senior Championship following tonight’s draw.

The St Dympna’s and the St Macartan’s have been perennial challengers for the O’Neill Cup. Dromore won the title in 2007, 2009 and 2011, while Trillick’s emerged as champions in 2015. But they have not met in direct championship opposition for years and this year’s first round tie is certain to be eagerly anticipated.

Another tie certain to whet the appetite’s is the one between reigning champions, Coalisland and Ardboe. The Fianna captured the title for the first time in eight years in 2018 while their rivals from the Loughshore have not reigning supreme in Tyrone since away back in 1998.


All-County League champions, Errigal Ciaran will meet Eglish, last year’s defeated county finalists, Killyclogher, have been drawn against Donaghmore, newcomers Tattyreagh will face Edendork and Tyrone’s two biggest town clubs, Omagh and Dungannon, are also due to meet.

In the Intermediate championship the draw with most derby interest will be that of newly promoted, Beragh, against Lougmacrory. Pomeroy meet last year’s Junior Champions, Newtownstewart and clash of Aghyaran and Augher is also sure to draw the crowds.

Glenelly will play Clann Na nGael in the stand-out Junior Championship tie, with Kildress, who were relegated last year, taking on Derrytresk.

The full first round and quarter final draws for the 2019 LCC Tyrone Senior, Intermediate and Junior Championships are:

LCC Tyrone SFC
Carrickmore v Derrylaughan
Killyclogher v Donaghmore
Eglish v Errigal Ciaran
Trillick v Dromore
Tattyreagh v Edendork
Dungannon v Omagh
Moy v Clonoe
Ardboe v Coalisland
D v G
B v H
E v A
F v C
LCC Tyrone IFC
Cookstown v Urney
Beragh v Loughmacrory
Moortown v Gortin
Clogher v Greencastle
Aghyaran v Augher
Newtownstewart v Pomeroy
Galbally v Strabane
Owen Roes v Stewartstown
D v C
G v E
F v B
H v A
LCC Tyrone JFC
Preliminary round
Drumquin v Aghaloo
First round
Brocagh v Fintona
Derrytresk v Kildress
Rock v Drumquin/Aghaloo
Killeeshil v Castlederg
Glenelly v Clann na nGael
Dregish v Eskra
Brackaville v Errigal Ciaran III
Drumragh v Killyman
D v A
F v G
H v B
E v C

Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW