Omagh Harriers runners celebrate successful year

THE past year has seen Omagh Harriers grow both in numbers and in the level of performances from a wide range of athletes. To reflect that and celebrate some of those achievements, the club held an awards night in the Silverbirch Hotel.

The junior athletes are a huge part of the club and they have been performing to national and international standard throughout the year.

The top awards went to Matthew Neill (junior male athlete) and Sorcha Mullan (junior female athlete). Both have had phenomenal years, with multiple wins and appearances at international events.


The junior performance of the year accolade went to Ella Quinn, who has also been a serial podium and race winner and represented Ireland at the World Mountain Running Championships along with Sorcha.

There were awards for emerging talent with Sean O’Hagan being named ‘Up and coming Junior 2019’ and Lauren Molloy, who was the ‘Most Improved Junior 2019’.

The senior section was rightly dominated by the track and field team, who medalled at every event they attended!

Trevor McGlynn took the ‘Senior Male Athlete 2019’ award, as well as the ‘Track and Field Male’ gong. Trevor has set new Irish records in hurdles, set new records for Pentathlon, and Decathlon and earned multiple gold medals at national and international meets.

The ‘Senior Ladies Athlete 2019’ and the ‘Female Track and Field Athlete’ honours went to Orlagh Colton who, in her first season as a track athlete, had an astounding season winning multiple medals and setting records in both the 60M hurdles, and an Irish record in throws at the All Ireland Finals.

The ‘Female Best Newcomer’ award went to Julie Gallagher for her performances this year and in particular cross country. ‘Male Best Newcomer was Martin McDermott, who has consistently performed to a super standard, even coping with an injury hit season. Ryan Shaw took home the ‘Up and coming Male’ as his progression through 2019 culminated with a time of 3:06 hours at the Dublin Marathon. Lucy McDermott capped a fantastic year, winning the ‘Female Cross Country Performance’ award, and Eoin Mullan earned the ‘Male Cross country Performance’ trophy.

‘Senior performance of the year’ went to Richard Duffy for his 107.8 miles at the Energia 24 hour race in Belfast.


The last section of the evening saw members recognised for their efforts in helping the club.

James McCabe was voted the ‘Clubman of the Year’. Among lots of other things, James was the driving force behind the fantastic new 2XU kit and took on a work load not to be envied making it happen. Patricia Campbell, meanwhile, was recognised for the years of tireless work she has put in across almost every aspect of the club, winning the ‘Commitment to the Club’ award.

The final award of the evening was ‘The Chairpersons Award’, which went to founding member and ladies coach Bill McCausland, who has been there from the start and has been a magnificent servant to the club.

Bill has a proven record nurturing and bringing running talent to the highest standards. He continues to coach the ladies and junior girls currently running at international level.


Ulster Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW